Who Governs Intercity Transit?

Intercity Transit is governed by a nine-member Board of Directors, the Intercity Transit Authority. The Authority consists of five elected officials who represent the Thurston County Board of Commissioners and the Cities of Lacey, Tumwater, Olympia, and Yelm. Three members are Citizen Representatives appointed by the Board, and one member is a labor representative.

Except for the labor representative, board members represent, and must live in, the public transportation benefit area. A Citizen Representative's term is three years, and the elected officials serve at the pleasure of their respective mayors and Commissioners.

The Authority sets policy and direction for the agency.

View the meeting calendar and packets.

When does The Authority Meet?

The authority meets in the business office Board room.

Authority meetings: First and third Wednesdays, 5:30 p.m.
Special meetings: As needed.

Who May Attend Authority Meetings?

Meetings and work sessions are open to the public. A public comment period occurs at each meeting shortly after the 5:30 p.m. start. Individuals may speak for three minutes. Speakers must sign in just prior to the start of the meeting.  Please silence your cell phone or pager before the meeting.


Contact Pat Messmer 
Phone: 360-705-5860
Fax: 360-357-6184, fax
View the meeting calendar for agendas and meeting highlights.

Intercity Transit Authority

Photo Name & Title

Molly Carmody
Councilmember, City of Yelm

Claus-Sharwark, David. Labor Representative
David Sharwark
Labor Representative
Carolyn Cox

Carolyn Cox - Vice Chair
Councilmember, City of Lacey

Authority Representative on the Thurston Regional Planning Council

Clark Gilman
Councilmember, City of Olympia

Alternate Authority Representative on the Transportation Policy Board

Don Melnick
Citizen Representative (Term expires 12/31/21)
Authority Representative on the Transportation Policy Board

Tye Menser
Thurston County Commissioner
Image of Sue Pierce



Sue Pierce
Citizen Representative (Term expires 12/31/22)

Debbie Sullivan
Councilmember, City of Tumwater

Alternate Authority Representative on Thurston Regional Planning Council


Ryan Warner 2019 photo

Ryan Warner - Chair
Citizen Representative (Term expires 12/31/20)
Authority Representative on the Pension Committee